the androgynous mud creature: a black woman

Most of the time I wonder what’s wrong with me.

Are there other’s like me?  Are there other introverted black women who don’t smoke, or drink, or go to the club, or over eat, or man share, or Bible thump, or sing in the choir, or conquer academia, or harbor a harmful sexual past, or strip, or gold dig, or curse,  or talk loud, or sass, or fight?

All the things described above are stereotypes, I know.  I never fit into the media induced stereotypes and many other black women don’t either. There must be millions of us.  I cannot, on any level began to speak for all black women.  However hypothetical though, there is a branch of truth laced into my own experiences and the experiences of other black women like me.

Labels...how much do they really convey?

Labels…how much do they really convey?

One thought on “the androgynous mud creature: a black woman

Leave a Reply

